Why do you want to pursue this course?

“If you do not look at things on a large scale, it will be difficult for you to master strategy” the words resonated as I read through the Book of Five Rings by Miyamoto Musashi. Miyamoto advises his readers to have a wide perception of their battles and while the kind of battles we face has drastically changed since the seventeenth century, the applicability of his wisdom has only burgeoned. It is critical to look at the bigger picture in any challenge we face, understand the positive and negative impacts of potential solutions, and how adaptable are the solutions to ever-changing needs. Guided by these thoughts, I kept questioning myself about the scope of the problems, the impact of my solutions and most importantly, the scalability of my solutions throughout my career. I understood from my professional experiences the next logical step in my career was to become technical leader, guiding teams of developers on projects in the fields of finance and data science. I believe the Master’s in Management Science & Engineering program offered by your esteemed university will accentuate my quantitative skills and give me the opportunity to pursue electives in technical management.