why do you want to be a physician assistant?

I have always had a desire to have a positive impact on society. When I was in high school, my dream was to become a medical doctor. I admired all educated people, but doctors were like superheroes to me. In Iran, people respected doctors, and being a doctor was the dream of almost all children. As an adult, I achieved this dream; however, I now seek to change paths and to pursue a second career in healthcare as a physician assistant. I always enjoyed teamwork, and I love being part of a team. In high school, I participated in sport teams, as well as a science team and a mathematics team. I knew working with a team was important practice for my future career. As a team member, I could practice many aspects of teamwork such as respect, leadership, problem solving and creating synergy. These experiences further convinced me that a role in the medical field was the best career for me. When I was coming of age in Iran, there were not enough native medical doctors and so we welcomed many foreign doctors from India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. However, a shortage remained. Through my interactions with different people, I figured out that many individuals still lacked access to quality medical care. At that point, I made the decision that my mission would be to serve the people that needed medical attention and to improve the quality of their lives. In Iran, after high school, all students have to pass a national exam to enter university. The Iranian University Entrance Exam is a standardized test used as one of the means to gain admission to higher education. Only the best students with the highest scores are accepted in medical universities. I had to study tirelessly for about two years to be accepted to medical school. When I got into medical school, the passion that I had for treating patients enabled me to overcome the challenges that I encountered. After spending seven years studying in the medical university and working for 23 years in Iran as a general physician (GP), I immigrated to the US in 2014 and I had to find a new way to continue pursuing my goal of providing healthcare to those who need it. After a great deal of research and soul searching, I determined that the physician assistant profession was the best fit for me. I was pleased to learn that a PA's role is very similar to that of a GP. Throughout my career as a doctor, I spent many years in emergency rooms, and I collaborated with countless specialists in different fields. I always found that working as a team with specialists was more effective and interesting because when I needed help, I could consult with them or even refer the patient to them. The collaborative aspect of the PA profession is therefore very exciting to me and is one of the most important factors in my decision to pursue this profession. Another aspect of the PA profession that appeals to me is its flexibility. If I were to enter a medical residency, I would have to commit to working in only one field for rest of my life. However, as a PA, I would have the ability to change specialties at any time during my career. Because of my previous experience in the medical field, I know that my interests are varied, and I also know that I have never stopped learning. Becoming a PA would allow me to further develop as a healthcare provider, medical expert, and lifelong learner. I believe that I have the necessary attributes to excel as a physician assistant, considering that I am not only a team player, but also a hardworking individual with a commitment to providing high-quality patient care. In particular, I want to make a difference in people's lives by acquiring the necessary skills to serve those who live in underserved areas. Physician assistants promote the delivery of health care, and managed care organizations consider them to be cost-effective since their cost of providing primary care is lower as compared to physicians. My motivation to get into this career is to touch people's lives, and I believe that the best way I can give back to society is by providing healthcare services in underserved areas. Getting into the PA program would enable me to develop the skills necessary for the prevention and treatment of different illnesses. With my dedication and commitment to empowering others, I would make a strong asset to this program and to the PA profession as a whole.