Why do you think teachers give homework to students? How important is it for students to have homework? Are there any other ways of revising school lessons? Perhaps homework should be abolished. Give your opinion about this.

In today's completive world, students are constantly under pressure to perform well in studies and homework has become a part of today's study culture. Teachers make students do homework in order to reduce their load in school and parents are supportive of this practice because it keeps their children busy leaving little time for anything other than studies. Doing homework is important to a certain extent as it lets the students be in touch with the syllabus even after school hours and makes it easier for them to grasp lessons better the next day at school. Another benefit is that the parents can keep themselves up-to-date with their child's progress in school. For them, the more time their child spends on studies the better. Everyone wants their children to excel in studies to be prepared for the cut-throat competition that is on offer. What adults do not realise is that playtime is as important to children as is study time. It is important for children's psychological wellbeing to have variation in activities as opposed to being in front of the books all the time. Schools can add a revision period at the end of school hours so that the pupils finish revising the day's lessons and go home without having to worry about homework. In some countries, students are never given homework and are not event required to carry books back and forth between home and school. In my opinion, homework should be abolished in our country thus reducing a burden on students. This will also put an end to the overloaded bags that our children have to carry which is posing a risk to their physical health. Students should be given enough time for extra-curricular activities also.