Why do so many people in the world depend on fish as a major part of their diet? And does it have any effect? Can anything be done to change this?

For many centuries, people have had fish as one of the top priorities in the human diet. However, problems associated with this habit are now threatening the longevity of both humans and nature. This essay attempts to shed light on why people take in a lot of fish and the solution to this problem. Firstly, fish is a major source of healthful long-chain omega-3 fats and other nutrients. Secondly, fish is an excellent source of protein, needed to maintain the body’s muscles, organs, and blood vessels. Lastly, fish consumption has been linked to a lower risk of fatal and total coronary cardiovascular disease (Qayoom, Mushtaq, Mir, & Gul, 2020). The omega-3 fats in fish prevent chronic disease and provide the evolution of brain. A study published in the Better Health Channel stated that fish consumption in older adults may be associated with a lower risk of developing dementia, including Alzheimer's disease. Although it is undeniable that eating fish can provide their body with many important nutrients, there is another end of the spectrum. Seafood consumption, which increases annual per-capita expenditures cost by about 1, 5%, in general, is harmful to health and indirectly harms the environment including overfishing and degradation of coral reefs, marine creatures through increased harvests (FDA, 2017). Moreover, overfishing and bycatch are some alarming issues, threatening billions of marine lives in the ocean and destroying the diversity of the ecosystem (World Wildlife, 2021). There are several solutions to maintain a healthy diet even without too many fish. Initially, the alternative could be beans, mushrooms, and other vegetables. Secondly, reduce their protein intake, and look for advisories. If there is no recommendation, restrict themselves to one serving per week (BBC Future, 2020). Finally, education and media are two potential ways to change fish addiction, as well as self-perceptions of their diet. To sum up, it is crystal clear that fish is a major and principal part of the diet, however, it should only be consumed in limited quantities. Controlling the proportion of fish is essential for the lifespan of both humans and nature.