Why do people walk less now?

With rapid development in vehicles nowadays, it’s conceivable that there are fewer pedestrians on the roads than there used to be. In this essay, I will elaborate on the causes of such a phenomenon, and give courses of action to ameliorate this issue. Despite the convenience that a vast number of vehicles provide to people’s traveling, it’s undeniable that this is the main reason that leads to the indolence of the majority of people. Likewise, as a result of having vast choices of transportation, people would become too lazy to walk by themselves, hence reliant on the use of vehicles. Moreover, it’s irrefutable that with hectic schedules and the need to fast-moving, walking seems to be the last choice of any people among the means of transportation. Hence, vehicles offer people time-saving whilst maintaining strength, it’s easy to see these become the prime option of people instead of walking. Thereby, it’s high time that serious consideration should be given to tackle this problem in order to avert such a bleak future. Firstly, the government should enact laws on the limited use of private vehicles such as cars, motorbikes, so more people will become pedestrians and access more public vehicles. In addition, this solution not only solves the problem of lack of activity in people, but also yields tremendous benefits such as lessening the environmental problem and traffic jams. Moreover, the government should consider investing in constructing appealing pedestrian roads that attract people to walk. A prime example of this is in Ho Chi Minh city, by constructing the Nguyen Hue walking street, the dwellers here tend to come here walking to exercise whilst sightseeing after a tiresome day. In conclusion, this quickly-spreading and worrisome issue causes mostly from the indolence and dependence of people in vehicles. In addition, a long-term macro solution should be given to the government such as constructing more pedestrian zones and limiting personal transportation.