Why are students stressed and how does it impact them?

“Nothing is permanent in this wicked world, not even our troubles. ” Charles Chaplin This essay will analyze the stress in students. Stress is an emotional response to any event that makes you feel frustrated, angry or nervous. We cannot control the diseases that we experiment but, we can fight against and avoid them as much as possible from our lifestyle. Failure to combat stress can expose students to the risk of affecting physical and emotional health. To initiate, Stress has become very common in students' lives, since 87% of students in the US have experienced it due to their lifestyle. Academic pressure is one of the main causes of stress, including all the situations that demand more from learners like organizing their work, too much homework, pressure to get good grades. As a result, they feel under pressure to fall on to academic dishonesty, such as sharing test answers, in order to meet these high expectations. Another cause would be poor sleeping habits, because it can limitate students' ability to memorize, learn and pay attention. “Students should sleep between 8. 5 and 9. 5 hours” (The National Sleeping Foundation, 2020). Student's stress ranges can also grow due to poor diet, including those with high levels of refined carbohydrates, sugar, caffeine, and fat. Anxiety disease is one of the main causes of suicide due to stress. Experts have found that this illness modifies the balance and internal communication within the brain which causes anxiety, this causes suicidal thoughts in a way to end suffering. The circulatory system deteriorates thanks to this disorder, which in the long term can cause hypertension or even a heart attack. There are many other effects such as: panic attacks, diabetes, depression and bad effects on your immune system. So stress clearly affects students' lives in a very huge way. That is why it is important to be aware of warning signs of tension because it starts to feel normal as time passes by. Some symptoms that we can identify are memory problems, inability to concentrate, constant worrying, agitation, aches, nervous habits. There are various strategies to manage stress. One of these is to do breathing exercises, listening to soothing music, these strategies have a very relaxing effect. Students can also stop stress by spending quality time with family and friends and laughing. Another way is doing exercise and avoiding procrastination. An interesting testimony was Laura's, “she was struggling with her mental health at university, until she joined a sports team and discovered the benefit of exercise and supportive teammates” (mind organization), who makes us see that the lifestyle that each student leads can affect in a negative or positive way. In conclusion, stress in students causes big negative effects, both mind and body. They may experience stress because of bad lifestyle habits or academic pressure. As we have seen, high stress ranges can even cause death, that is why it is important to encourage parents and teachers to help fight stress in students, so that they do not feel alone and can go through that stage of their life, this is the real change.