why are stress related illnesses becoming more frequent and what can we do about it

The fast pace of the modern generation, combined with its high expectations can take a heavy toll on a person's mental health. Doctors and scientists have identified that the number of stress related illnesses have gradually increased during the past 5 or 6 generations, and they believe it will keep getting worse if we don't identify the problem, and find a solution to this increasingly threatening crisis. One of the key issues with the modern generation is it's growing competition in every field and the extreme expectations and pressure. Because of todays large population, job opportunities are decreasing. This means there is extra competition compared to the older generations. This leads to high stress levels and stress related illness be cause expectations are higher and workers must work their life away to keep or get a job. Research states that the percentage of unemployed Australians have increased by 1 over the past 2 years, which doesn't seem like much, but in the grand scheme of things, it all adds up to make a big number. Stress levels in employed Australians have also increased surprisingly, resulting in 13% of Australians facing stress related issues. The large amount of competition and high expectations can take a large toll on people's mental health and unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about it at the moment. Unlike the previous generation, freedom and personal space is also sadly reduced due to the large population. Doctors believe that most patients prefer to be left alone when they are stressed, Unfortunately, it is getting increasingly difficult due to the larger population and more better connected social networks. Even though help from doctors and other specialists are better available now, it is sometimes best if people are left alone when they are stressed. In addition to that, social media can add to your troubles and make matters worse. You can hear, see and learn things that you didn't need to know that will make you stressed out or worsen a bad situation. There is also numerous toxic and harmful websites that can make your day living hell. The best thing to do if a person is stressed it to hop off social media and take some time for yourself, go for a walk or do something that you love. It is crucial that we identify and understand the reason behind the increased stress levels and stress related illnesses. Doing so will definitely improve life quality, increase life expectancy and satisfaction. The increased competition and pressure can take a toll on people and unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about it, the society will just have to learn to adapt. However, if you are stressed, the optimal thing to do is hop off social media, go for a walk and take some time for yourself.