who should pay for COVID-19 treatment: government or patients?

The COVID-19 pandemic has led to a dramatic loss of human life worldwide and presents an unprecedented challenge to public health, food systems and the world of work. However, for those who contract coronavirus, they need to worry about the cost of treating it. So who should pay for COVID-19 treatment: government or patients? While legislators, regulators and insurance companies have taken steps aimed at improving access to care and reducing expenses, one person’s required share of medical charges could vary wildly from another patient receiving the same treatment. Most individuals who come down with the virus recover at home. However, an estimated 15% of infected people may end up hospitalized, according to the Kaiser Family Foundation. Recent data suggests that patients who go to intensive care stay there for an average of 20 days. The average cost to treat a hospitalized patient with the virus is $30, 000, according to a study released Wednesday by America’s Health Insurance Plans, a trade group for insurers. (Other estimates have come in both lower and higher. ) Regardless of the amount, though, the tab generally wouldn’t be the responsibility of patients with insurance. And even for those with no coverage, there’s a good chance — as of now — that you won’t get billed for at least som eparts of your treatment. Here’s what you should know. Although details are still being worked out, the Trump administration said last week that it will use funding under recently passed legislation to help cover the cost of treating uninsured coronavirus patients — as long as the hospital accepting the government’s reimbursement rate does not bill the uninsured patient for any remaining balance (i. e. , “balance billing”). “The uninsured would be able to go into the hospital without being worried about facing thousands of dollars in hospital bills, ” said Karyn Schwartz, a senior fellow at the Kaiser Family Foundation. However, it’s unclear whether the government’s offer of reimbursement extends only to hospitals or to other providers as well, Schwartz said. That includes physicians who treat a coronavirus patient in the hospital and may not be directly employed by the facility.