In some parts of the world, the popularity of taking a persona DNA test in increasing. Why do some people want to do this? Is this development positive or negative?

Personal DNA test is becoming increasingly popular in some portions of the world. This essay will talk about why people take gene examination to prevent future diseases and disorders. It will also share an opinion on how this practice instill prevention is better than cure however could be unethical in the longer run. More humans are relying on DNA testing which involves taking swab of cheek, blood or hair sample to identify any genetic condition, disorder and treat it before-hand. Moreover, it can help women who want to get pregnant to identify any gene related ailment that can be fatal for the future child. To illustrate, Ivanka from Texas wanted to plan her first pregnancy and she decided to get her chromosomes checked at home. Unexpectedly, the results showed mutation of BRCA1 gene which is responsible for breast and ovarian cancer. Consequently, this gave her the opportunity to get treated at a right time and save two lives. Secondly, people from western countries take gene tests to understand their ancestry lineage and know about their fathers and forefathers. In addition to this, DNA checking has enabled people to connect with their biological parents. A survey (2019) on internet found out that 10% of the adopted children in the USA were able to find their real mothers through gene checkup. Testing genes is not only an easy method to check for probable mutations causing illness, it’s also cost effective and quick. Increased access to personal genomics has helped healthy persons identify mutations which can lead to genetic disorder. In spite of the growing number of people choosing to take a DNA prognosis, there is a major limitation to this. Getting a personal DNA test gives access to huge private conglomerates of human chromosome data. This information once shared, loses any sort of privacy and can be used it any form by this money seeking multinationals. In conclusion, DNA testing is a rapidly increasing practice and through scientific developments will become more concise and help people identify various diseases and conditions. Despite of this, it could pave way for unethical practices by opportunists leading to widespread ¬¬