who should be responsible for our old people? Who should be responsible for our old people?

One of the worst challenging problem of today's society is the question who should be responsible for our old people. It's not only a financial problem but also a question of the system we want our society to have. In my essay I would like to tour different models. Firstly, the company can be responsible for their retired employees. For this reason, a special fund could be established. The advantage of this model is, if you belief in the capitalist system, that it should be the cheapest solution. A possible problem is that the companies might have competitive disadvantage due to higher staff costs. A second solution is that the government has to sale the responsibility for the old people's care. It can finance this with its tax incomes. Actually, this is the most democratic model since everybody gets as much money as he or she needs. Unfortunately, as the present situation in our country shows, this solution seems not to work very well. The government can no longer afford supporting all the old peoples. Another way of solving this problem is to give back the responsibility to the individual. That means that everybody must save money during their working life for the time after their achievement. This seems to be not a very fair model because their will certainly exist people who can't afford to save part of their salary. In this case the government would have to care for them. A last solution is to go back to the old model of the "big family" who cares for all their members. I could think this is possible in our days society because the family structures have so much changed. To sum up, I must admit that I can't find a really good solution for this problem. All models have advantages and disadvantages. Certainly, we have to think about this topic much more in the future.