Topic 3: “Computers will soon replace teachers in the classroom. ” Get ready to talk to an audience about the issue

Automation has become a part of our everyday life. In fact it is now widely used in the field of teaching. Some people believe that computers will replace human instructors in the near future. However, in my opinion, this will not happen because physical presence of the instructor in the class room is important for effective teaching and learning. A teacher who is present in the classroom can easily understand whether the students are learning the topic at the current speed or any alteration in the teaching method is required. He or she can also figure out which students require more attention. For instance, my friend was weak in his studies. Our teachers often gave him special attention to keep him on the track. This could not have been possible if the teacher was not present in the classroom. Direct interaction during teaching are also equally important. Any doubts in the student’s mind are readily resolved because they can ask questions and get answers instantly. For example, I was not good at mathematics while doing my graduation. Hence, I would note down all my doubts during the class. After the regular class hours, I would approach my professor with my doubts. Those direct interactive sessions with my teacher improved my grades. On the other hand, a computer can only teach. It cannot figure out whether students have grasped the concepts or not. Not all students in a class are of the same intellectual level. Some learn fast while others require more attention. A computer will give the same attention to all students. This can affect the performance of poor students. To conclude, a computer may be faster than a human being, but it is not more intelligent. It cannot replace human instructors in the classroom because of its inherent shortcomings. Automation has its limits and I don’t expect computers to replace human teachers in the near future.