Is it better for a country to raise taxes in order to subsidize different social programs for the citizens, or to lower taxes to boost the economic growth of the country?

While many experts in the field of economy believe that it is more beneficial for a country to increase taxes in order to support and provide a variety of social programs for the citizens, others advocate the implementation of lowered taxes with the intention of energizing the economic growth of the country. I believe that higher taxes will provide the government with more revenues which may lead to creating and enhancing social services for the public. This essay will elaborate on two main ideas that support the aforementioned opinion. In an industrial society, taxes are considered the main source that fund the creation and maintenance of infrastructures. In order to maintain a well-functioning infrastructure and to decrease breakdowns, it may be beneficial to increase taxes. For example, increased taxes will mean more revenues for enhancing and creating a well-equipped public transportation system that will be readily available to the public without any delays due to malfunction, which originally stem from having insufficient funds to quickly repair and maintain the system. In addition, enhanced infrastructure can also mean well-developed telecommunication networks that rarely suffer from breakdowns which would ultimately benefit the productivity of the society by cutting down the time spent on delays and unstable network communication. While tax reduction might mean more income for everyone in the short run, this will also mean less funding for the educational system that might create, in the long run, a less-educated generation with lower salaries. Education is the cornerstone of a nation; If it is not sufficiently funded through providing school buildings with the adequate educational supplies, and hiring enough instructors, it will definitely lead to a higher illiteracy rate and incompetence among individuals which will consequently create a large number of young individuals with no marketable skills. As a result, these individuals may have a low to no wage and they might become a drain on their society. This clearly demonstrates that higher taxes do in fact have a positive long-term impact on the community. It is a well-known idea that all countries around the globe share one common goal; that is to achieve a well-functioning and productive population. The tax increment is the best possible approach that would improve and preserve the infrastructure of a country and contribute to the eradication of illiteracy and the creation of a well-educated community.