Many people believe that the experiments on animals should be outlawed.

Nowadays, the scientific research has come a long way, reaching some goals which were considered impossible to achieve in the past. In order to state new principles and to certify their effectiveness, scientists conducted experiments on animals over the last centuries. Many activists, especially among young people, are now trying to invert this trend making people more sensitive about this issue. They consider unacceptable experimenting on living beings, even if researchers need it for medical purposes, as often drugs fail and animals are injured or die. Moreover, animal rights activists claim that this is a barbaric practice and humans should completely stop performing animal trials and find an effective alternative. On the other hand, some people could argue that it is better to sacrifice animals than using brand-new drugs on humans, because it is hazardous and dangerous. However, there are methods to test for the efficacy of scientific findings which do not include the waste of any life or the use of violence. For example, it is possible to create artificial molecules in the laboratory that would be very similar to the human ones, in order to test the effects of drugs or other materials. This method would allow scientists to look directly at the effects produced in parts of the human body in a realistic way. In conclusion, bioethics is one of the main topics discussed among the members of the scientific community, that could choose to use new features of science to find non-violent and safer ways to test their discoveries.