While many people argue that marketing could easily manipulate customers’ behaviors, others contend that it has virtually no negative influences. I firmly agree with the former statement and this essay will present my view via a discussion of both sides.

While many people argue that marketing could easily manipulate customers’ behaviors, others contend that it has virtually no negative influences. I firmly agree with the former statement and this essay will present my view via a discussion of both sides. Firstly, those who subscribe to the idea that people no longer give credence to promotional activities may suggest that the persuasive power of advertising has vastly decreased. This is because people have become more and more cognizant of the fact that the dramatization of products’ capabilities often crosses the line into falsely representing the actual values of those goods, which eventually renders individuals disappointed and dissatisfied after purchasing them. Therefore, citizens often seek out other ways in order to be informed about products they wish to buy, for example, perusing the reviews of ones who had bought those commodities. However, I do feel that advertising could subtly entice potential customers into making purchases. The reason for this is that marketing practices are inclined to link images of power, glamour and luxury to its products via celebrity endorsements, creating artificial wants and prompting people to buy those things in order to have ideal lives which resemble to the portrayals made by those advertisements. A case in point is Rolex company, which has been ranked first in the world in terms of the sales of watches for decades mainly because its’ marketing team has successfully associated a symbol of high status in society to its products. All in all, I wholeheartedly believe that advertising has an overwhelming power to affect the decision-making process of a person.