Which is more important? Plant trees in open spaces in towns and cities or build more housing

The utilization of open spaces in the towns has become a debatable point in recent times. I differ from the statement in the question that tree plantation is more important than housing. Housing plays a crucial part in development of human societies. There are adequate portion of people without proper shelter in urban societies. The day-to-day workers and people below poverty line reside in temporary huts without proper access to food and water. They live on the promises of politicians to provide permanent shelter with adequate resources. Officials should identify proper land and develop housing plan for such people. Large proportions of rural population are migrating to towns and cities as part of change in social status or work. This calls for a major lifestyle change. Increased population in cities needs more housing projects to accommodate them. Authorities need to plan for creating more homes in less space such as community apartments. These would create further employment in that locality and also help small scale vendors. However, due to increased population density and the pollution it causes, there is need for tree plantation in cities and towns. Again, the authorities need to allocate a certain portion for parks or gardens which promote environmental protection. Even in apartments, tree plantation can be carried out around the compound. Hence, open spaces should be utilized for development of housing infrastructure with proper plan to accommodate the greenery keeping in view of environment. After all, housing is the primary achievement in development of human societies.