Which invention in the past century do you think is the most important: a) the airplane; b) the telephone; c) the automobile

Although there have been many great inventions over the past century, I think that the telephone has had the biggest impact. The telephone offers many advantages, the first and foremost of which is strengthening people's connections. No matter how far the distance is between one another, we can still keep in touch. It has helped to improve people's interpersonal skills and helped to foster a sense of community. By staying in touch via the telephone, information became more accessible and social dynamics changed on many levels. For example, the way in which meetings or parties were arranged became far more convenient and immediate. By reducing the need to travel to communicate, the telephone also had a massive impact on economic activities around the world. Boosting the economy with such an invention is unquestionable. Companies that could communicate quickly naturally gained a competitive edge over competitors. One could purchase commodities via the telephone or engage in various business deals without having to travel. One example of this is the adoption of tele-banking to manage one’s assets and investments. While some people may express concerns about privacy with this technology, overall the advantages of the telephone far outweigh its disadvantages. We must keep in mind that any technology can be a doubleedged sword. In a positive way, the government can use telephones to keep an eye on suspicious activities that may endanger the nation. Therefore, this actually keeps our homeland security safe. It can prevent terrorism, kidnappings, government corruption, scams, and drug trafficking from happening. What’s more, if someone requires urgent medical assistance, we can dial 911 immediately. It is widely acknowledged that the telephone has reduced casualty rates throughout the world. While many people take the invention of the telephone for granted, its benefits are truly innumerable. The telephone has become part and parcel of our lives and it enables us to have a better quality of life. Unquestionably, it is the most important invention in the past century