Which do you think is more important: having practical intelligence or having a highIQ? Why?

In this modern society, many people assume having a high IQ score would be more necessary. While this viewpoint might be rational in a few aspects, I would argue that the importance of having practical intelligence is even On the one hand, having a high IQ score, the score which is tested to find out how intelligent you are, would be so helpful in one way or another. There are two circumstances that could happen. If you have a high IQ and a really good living environment at the same time, such as living in a supportive family, you’ll have the chance to develop yourself, know how to use your IQ wisely, and you’ll probably be successful in a particular field. However, if you are not that fortunate, which means you have a high IQ but were born in a low-income unhappy family or an unhealthy environment, your high IQ would not be appreciated. One true evidence of this situation is Chris Langan, a 195 IQ man, who did nothing with his gifted and then had a very unfortunate life. He had worked as a bouncer, firefighter, factory worker, cowboy for a living. On the other hand, practical intelligence would be a very big advantage when it comes to living and surviving. Psychologist Robert J. Sternberg, professor at CornellUniverisity, the “father” of the Triarchic theory of intelligence, once wrote: “Intelligent behavior involves adapting to your environment, changing your environment, or selecting a better environment”. People with this kind of intelligence are usually good at reading maps, navigating streets, understanding others’ and finding the best solution for any complex problems. Their problem-solving skills and making good decisions are essential to the workplaces, schools, or wherever they are. The best thing about practical intelligence is that it can be improved by learning from your experiences, especially your mistakes. Overall, both IQ and practical intelligence are useful and if you have any of them, it’d be a pleasure but to me, I believe practical intelligence is more important.