Educating school students on the consequences of carrying out a crime has long been a contentious issue

Educating school students on the consequences of carrying out a crime has long been a contentious issue. There is a common belief that talks by ex-prisoners should be held at school to inform students of the threat to society when a crime is committed. While I accept that this practice is beneficial in a few ways, I believe there are many better methods to educate students about the dangers ofcrimes. There are certain benefits of having reformed criminals talking to students about the hazards that are (1) associated with crime. The most obvious benefit is that students may learn from those who truly understand about crime. Those who (2) committed a crime have likely (3) gathered knowledge about the dangers of crime for the victims, not only from their own offenses but also from communication with other criminals. In addition, this method may also educate students about the threat to the offenders themselves when they commit a crime. To explain, ex-prisoners are those who have (4) undergone a long process of (5) imprisonment and (6) rehabilitation, so their life-stories are often a great source of real- life experience of not only what prisoners are deprived of but also how (7) remorseful they feel. However, I am convinced that there are better solutions to teach students about the negative effects of partaking in criminal activity. The most viable measure may be to introduce (8) criminology as a subject at school. While the life-stories of ex-prisoners are often biased, criminology knowledge is based on empirical data and research and as such, tends to be more reliable than anecdotal evidence. With this method, students can learn all the necessary knowledge about crime, including the dangers of it, through (9) the lens of science and therefore have a (10) holistic view on crime and the associated dangers. Another useful measure could be to film the harsh daily lives of prisoners and show it to school students. Notwithstanding the benefits of giving talks, films with vivid imagery can be much more visually attractive and thus more effective in informing students of the harsh reality of life in (11) incarceration. To conclude, I am of the opinion that although talks by ex-prisoners may keep students informed of the dangers of carrying out a crime, there are stronger measures such as the introduction of criminology as a school subject.