Whether information can be freely exchanged

People have different opinions about the privacy of information. While some people argue that free exchanges of information would benefit academics, industry and public sectors, I personally believe that some of the information should be carefully managed and shared properly. It is true that there are many advantages of sharing information freely in the research field. Firstly, access to certain types of personal data can contribute to creating new knowledges and improving the society. For example, when assessing the impact of public programs such as tax subsidies on firms’ growth, researchers need information on firms’ profits or employees’ information. While the information can be sensitive, impact evaluations are needed for better policy making. Moreover, business persons can make better decisions when they can access more information. Investors, for example, need information on specific industries or consumers’ trend data. Finally, the accessibility of information also means transparency and integrity. Public institutions need to disclose financial information and how and in which purposes taxes have been used. However, I argue that certain types of information should be protected or better managed. In particular, personal information of citizens such as their address, contact information or demographic histories are valuable because this information can be misused. For example, big companies sometime leak consumers’ information to third parties accidentally, which often cause frauds or crimes. No only residents, but also the industry and academic fields also need data and information protection. For example, new scientific research often protect their innovation using patents. If the new techniques, products or knowledge are not protected, it will discourage advancements of inventions or technologies. In conclusion, I admit that sharing information would certainly benefit researchers, business persons and citizens. However, I also believe that we need careful examinations on what types of information and to what extent we can share the information.