When the issue comes to the import of food, there exists many conflicting opinions. Some people are convinced that it is essential for countries to manufacture the food for their inhabitants and restrain importing food from

When the issue comes to the import of food, there exists many conflicting opinions. Some people are convinced that it is essential for countries to manufacture the food for their inhabitants and restrain importing food from other countries. I agree to some extent and this essay will give some justifications, proving my perspective. On the one hand, countries would reap many benefits from producing food by themselves. Firstly, this practice could ensure the safety of the population when encountering certain hindrances. To be more specific, in case the import process is forced to stop or the governments have to deploy the closed-door policy, the capability of manufacturing food would become an indispensable source for protecting people against famine. For instance, Covid-19, which has been threatening the survival of numerous people, has impeded the import of an array of countries, making them in turmoil due to coping with the scarcity of staple. Secondly, self-producing food would deter the governments from squandering money. This is because the imported food always includes tax, which is sometimes exorbitant to make a purchase. Hence these countries can save a huge amount of money. On the other hand, some countries have to deal with a variety of impediments when self-producing food. The primary rationale is that some countries do not have the ideal environment for the agriculture industry. In other words, with the particular weather conditions, some countries could only plant and nurture some types of food, thus leading to inadequate types of food for the population. For example, Japan could not grow enough mangoes to meet the immediate demand of the inhabitants. Therefore, they have to import this type of fruit from some countries such as Vietnam, where mango is easily-planted. That directly dignifies the role of the import process. In conclusion, countries should have the ability to produce food for the population to prepare for tremendously terrible circumstances, but the role of import needs considering carefully. I believe the development of technology in the future would pave a way for decreasing the importance of imported food, when all food can be produced at closed space.