benefits and drawbacks of consumerism

In these days, the high increasing of consumer demands formed consumerism and it is getting more and more common. Besides of its upsides, the consumerism brings some downsides. On the one hand, there are many reasons why consumerism is beneficial. Firstly, consumerism creates job opportunities. The more products, the more labor, the more reduction of unemployed people. For example, In Binh Duong province, the garment industry does not require a high level of education, it just has ingenuity, so it supported several poorly educated people to have stable jobs. Secondly, a country’s economy also boosts thanks to the elevated consumption of goods. To be more specific, Viet Nam focuses on producing items for domestic utilization and exporting. It increases Viet Nam’s income significantly. On the other hand, there are also a huge number of harmful effects that people should take in consideration. The first con is the harmful impact on the local environment. To illustrate this, the natural resources can be depleted if some factories overexploit it. It puts a serious issue on balancing the ecosystem. The second drawback is the discrimination and crime of materialism. Take my old school as an example. In class, a student with a wealthy living standard is loved by almost classmates, on the contrary, a student with difficult circumstances is shunned. In addition, the criminals are also formed from the lack of materials because of the envy and lust. In conclusion, consumerism could bring a huge number of positive points, but its negative consequences should be fixed.