when studying abroad provides an opportunity to broaden one's experience, it also presents the danger of negative influences from the host culture

Studying abroad is getting more and more popular among students. It is said that gaining an education overseas is beneficial since it grants with a chance of expanding one's knowledge, in contrast, it has a negative effect such as the threat of adverse impacts from the other culture. In this essay, both sides of this argument will be comprehensively discussed. On the one hand, residing and obtaining knowledge in a foreign country assists to learn something new, namely auxiliary language. There are many merits of being bilingual, for instance, it presents a number of job opportunities, hence employees that are fluent in numerous languages are indeed valuable. In addition, acquiring education abroad enhances communication skills. As people move to another country, in order to survive in an unfamiliar place, they will have to find there new acquaintances. Communicating with individuals will aid to develop soft skills. Not only that, tuition overseas helps to adapt to independent living owing to the fact that students will have to start afresh life without the presence and assistance of their parents. The other side of the issue is that host culture might negatively affect an individual's lifestyle. In a foreign land, there is no control of parents, therefore sophomores can do anything regardless of what, to be precisely consuming alcohol, smoking cigarettes and even more dangerous drug abuse. Abuse of chemicals may lead to addiction, which is challenging to overcome even with rehabilitation. Based on the arguments cited, it is evident that there are more positive aspects of overseas study than negative.