Fault in a DFIG machine in industrial use

A fault in an electrical system is an abnormality in the component or circuit, which results in a shift from the intended values of specific parameters. These shifts can have a debilitating effect on the system and can even be hazardous. Therefore, identifying the fault and its effect beforehand can reduce its occurrence. A more economical approach is to create a digital model of the system and perform a computer simulation of the whole system by introducing faults. It will save time, money, and resources. A rotor winding fault is an internal fault of the rotor windings. It can occur due to various reasons like short-circuiting of the windings, breakage of wire insulations, or overheating of the windings, to name a few. The source of these faults is majorly due to manufacturing defects or poor maintenance of the generator. When the generator functions in a faulty state like this, it can cause catastrophic failure of the machine, and in most cases, the damage is beyond the scope of repair. If the fault occurs in one phase of the rotor windings, it is called a Single-Phase winding fault, and if it occurs in two-phase, it is called a Double-Phase winding fault. The paper studies the effects of both these faults on the machine to that of a healthy generator. The single-phase fault was modeled by removing/deleting one of the rotor windings from the model. For the double-phase fault, another winding from the adjacent slot in the rotor was removed/deleted. These faults have a deleterious effect on the working life of the machine. Therefore, identifying and simulating the influence of these faults can reduce or avoid the repercussions in wind turbines.