When people buy unnecessary things with money they do not have

Newsletters per e-mail, advertisements on social media, banners and flags suggesting that we would miss our opportunity to make a bargain—this is the consumption-centered world we live in today. It is everything but surprising that especially young people, who are exposed to omnipresent advertisements on their smartphones and notebooks, start to develop an urge to buy unnecessary things. Influencers on social media show their new clothes from Gucci, Prada or Louis Vuitton and their admirers seek personal fullfilment by borrowing money they can not pay back. Once this threshold is surpassed it becomes easy to increase the debt in order to approach the personal ideals they thrive for—success and recognition. Once they constructed this artificial feeling of happiness, they are unwilling to give it up, since they risk to lose their reputation in their social network and their self-esteem. Some people would consider such people unmindful and blame them for being in this vicious debt-cycle, but they need somebody that bursts their filter bubble they live in and reintegrate them into society. They may not make it on their own. Furthermore, it is vital to rise awareness on this issue. Campaigns on social media, in newspapers and big cities need to be conducted in order to inform the affected people before they enter this vicious cycle. The campaigns could be subtle and just make people remember that they do not have to possess things to bring joy into their lives—rather they need to feel comfortable in their skin and appreciated what fate has laid them into their hands. That is healthiness, freedom, friends and family.