When I enrolled in an undergraduate programme in Film, I was under the impression that I would solely be making movies for the cinema or short clips for online platforms

When I enrolled in an undergraduate programme in Film, I was under the impression that I would solely be making movies for the cinema or short clips for online platforms. My minor in Applied Psychology, though, shifted my ambitions somewhat; I realized that I want to create positive experiences for people. This experience, among others, spurred my interest in ergonomics and human factors and has led me to pursue advanced training in this area. Having looked into several options, I am confident that Loughborough University is the best place for me to make this shift in my academic career. I appreciate that the course admits students who interested in people, technology, design and environment; some Human Factors and Ergonomics programmes require students to have advanced experience with computers science, which is frustrating for me because that is was not a primary focus of my undergraduate years. I believe I am well suited for this programme. User-centred research on user experience aligns well with my research background in psychology. In a course on Engineering Psychology, I learned about the relationship between people, machines and the environment, and how emotional design theory responds to such interactions. In Emotional Psychology, I used a two-factor experimental design to test the emotional impact of interactive and traditional movies; These and other psychology classes laid the foundation of my interest in the field of user experience. also worked as an intern with a user-experience association called UXPA-China, so I am not without some understanding of the kind of material involved. Finally, I am drawn to the interdisciplinary subject matter; having studied both movies and psychology, I appreciate how tools and techniques from different disciplines can inform each other, and I think that interdisciplinary programmes benefit from having students from diverse backgrounds. In my undergraduate thesis, my topic was the interactive film and I explored user experience and the design of interactive elements. Outside of the classroom, I volunteered for a project that involved teaching older people how to use apps. This is undoubtedly a worthwhile effort, but I had to ask myself why people should adapt to software instead of the other way around. The development of usability software and better human-computer systems will help many people live more easily. This is another motivation for my wanting to help shape the digital future to meet a wide range of human needs. I am particularly eager to take the modules on Data Collection and Analysis because I have some user research basic experience. I interned as a project assistant with a user-experience association, UXPA-China, from 2016 to 2017. One of the tasks was conducting user interviews to enhance the experience of the company's activities; I interviewed more than 500 users, identifying their pain points and then presenting the results to organization leaders. My user research, analysis and suggestions led to a real, measurable impact on the organization. I am also interested in the course on Project Module. It will provide me with the opportunity to work on a real industry project,which help me master knowledge from practice. My time in Loughborough would help me to apply theoretical principles, data and methods to ensure that design is optimised for human wellbeing and overall system performance. These are among the core skills I will need to begin a career in the ergonomics field. I have looked at the LinkedIn profiles of some graduates from this programme, and they include employees at Semcon AB, Medstar Health, and other major firms, evidence that training and a degree from Loughborough would be conducive to my career development.