Translating books, the advantages and disadvantages

Starting school as like I'm going in Freediving with no oxygen. It's just me and my stamina trying to get back on track today by writing this essay as my final assignment. is the official announcement that my oxygen has lasted till the end. When you are an employee who works the creative field, there are no working hours nor a finish line to all the marathons that you go through every day; that's what made it even harder for me as a student. But at the same time, my job was the reason behind me choosing this book to work on as my graduation project. I do want to understand the creativite process, boost my career, and improve my skills. I thought; there is no better way to study this book than translating it. Reading this book was a fantastic journey. All the stories that inspired me, and all the ideas that changed the world in my eyes. Creativity. Inc took me in a sort of behind the scenes -VIP tour- to understand how the world of movies has been evolving and how creativity would make anyone overcome their limit. The book was brilliant and absolutely gripping; however, I've faced many issues translating it. First and foremost was how to decide which translation is suitable when it comes to movie names. I was torn apart between: Sticking to the literal translation of the words, and translating the meaning behind the title even if I used completely different words. Eventually, I decided to stick to the literal; I can't say I'm 100% satisfied, but at least that would be easier for people to know which movie I mean. The other issue was that the idioms and slangs that were everywhere in the book, which was a bit challenging. But when I did the research that I needed and sorted things out, those sentences became, in a way, a learning opportunity that would help me in the future to understand the day to day conversations or published articles that use informal phrases. You never reach the finish line without the help of those who cheered for you or those who underestimated you and filled you with anger to prove them wrong – I had to add this point because ain't no angel. With that being said, I have to say; Thank you to every person stood by me and believed in my talent, a special thank to my mother, for always being my backbone, and the person who always reminds me to eat when I'm starving, but not aware of it, and My father the reason why I'm fearless today, my sister who always makes me see the obstacles as an opportunity and my brothers for not understanding me, yet supporting my crazy visions and reckless desicions. I can't also forget my friends who promised me to celebrate my graduation, and their support and push were my motivation for the past semester -to be honest- I don't want to forget to thank my professor doctor Najah the one who sets an incredible example for me. And finally, thank you, Dr. Abrar, for being part of this amazing project.