In your view, what qualities does a city need in order to be a great place to live?

In order for a city to be inhabitable, I personally believe that it should provide its residents with recreational facilities, community centers, and advanced and affordable transportation system. In this essay, I will elaborate on each of these points to have a better insight into the issue. A city with plenty of recreational facilities will ease the people’s lives who live there in several ways. In other words, the availability of playgrounds or theme parks for children will contribute to their social and physical well-being in that they will have the chance to get socialize with their peers and accordingly build better social skills starting from an earlier stage of their lives. Likewise, outdoor and indoor sports facilities are likely to provide adults with the opportunity to get rid of their everyday stress resulting from the hustle and bustle of modern life. A wide spectrum of sports facilities may also help them build/maintain better health while making most of their free time in an effective way. Community centers, in a similar fashion, are of great importance in that they can offer many educational and social events for its settlers living in the vicinity. These events may range from free lectures and talks on a wide range of topics by venerable pundits in society to skills share opportunities as well as some social events such as live performances and monthly or yearly gatherings which will pave the way for somewhat strengthened communal ties. Last but not least, an advanced and affordable transportation system will increase the quality of life to a considerable extent. Namely, maintenance of a fast, reliable, and safe public transportation in a city will bring a myriad of advantages from saving more time for activities to leading a healthier life into its residents’ lives. As for the accessibility issue, adjusting transportation fee based on the welfare of all residents from different strata of society and keeping them at a minimum level will also be equally important. The crux of the issue at this point is not only about the costs of travel within a city but also the convenience of accessing all remote corners of a city. To this end, the municipality should grant especially the elderly people and handicapped residents living in a specific city with effective transfer points. Considering all these qualities that a city should have, I strongly hold the opinion that it will be the best place to lead one’s life. All in all, recreational sites, civic centres along with an inexpensive modern transportation system will make a city a great place to live, especially in today’s unprecedented circumstances.