What's the right age for parents to get their kids a cell phone? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

This task deals with the issue about the appropriate age a child can be given a cellular phone. I most likely think that the optimal age of issuing a phone to a child is about 18 years as children before this age are naive and can be exposed to risks posed by the usage of mobile phone. Firstly, making a smart phone available to children before the age of 18 can increase the risk a child experiences. Kids younger than 18 years lacks the knowledge of the dangers of social media and other online activities such as gaming, gambling etc. People belonging to the younger generation may find these activities amusing and often get addicted to gaming which highly effect them in a negative way. More over having little command over the pros and cons about the cellular phone may lead to ambiguity about the features that can be accessed and the one's that has to be left out. Further more teens can be often exposed to mature content on social media which can lead to highly disastrous results. One such example is a about a kid i read online who was 16 years old made a credit card purchase worth 1800$ without his parents consent. Secondly, at the age of 18 years children acquire a sense of resposibility as a child's brain is more mature when compared to earlier ages. At this suitable age getting a child his/her personal phone can give out fruitful results. Access of vast amount of information on internet is at fingertips. One such case is about a kid from my neighbourhood who with access to a smart phone taught himself complex mathematics concepts which ultimately resulted in him winning a state Math olympiad. In conclusion, it can be stated that children belonging to the category of below 18 years are too naive and inexperienced to be issued a smart phone. People above 18 years when given a cellular phone can bring out the creative side in them which can bring out impressive results.