What work of art, music, science, mathematics, literature, or other media has surprised, unsettled, or inspired you, and in what way? What work of art, music, science, mathematics, literature, or other media has surprised, unsettled, or inspired you, and in what way?

I was surrounded by people like me. Among all my classmates I have met for the first 16 years living in China, only two are minorities. I barely thought about how people that are different from me are like until The Last Quarter of the Moon stirred me. My eyes turn wet as she, the last chief of Evenks people living in Argun, cried for the 90 years of rains and snows she has seen. The divine power of Shaman and nature once comforted every heart of Evenks people living inside the deepest forests. They live by the gifts of nature, eating raw meat and collecting fruits. Their traditional living style seems superstitious and even barbaric. The "civilized" living style becomes a lightning strike without sound. Settling down with their reindeers with Han people, they soon realize how reindeers lost the lust in their furs day after day, then slowly died. They send the reindeer back to the forests to revitalize them, the totem of the Evenks. Those who lost their reindeers also lost their spirits. Is the different and traditional way of life barbaric that should be left behind? They collect no more than what nature gives them. Shaman blesses the whole tribe, sacrificing her own life to save a little kid. We who self-exaggerated for reason and civilization often walk too fast, glancing through the treasures then ignore them to chase the unknown future. Every story has an end, but there should not be an end for cultures.