what the responsibilities of parenting are

Being a parent in today's turbulent society presupposes both a hefty measure of patience and wisdom on the part of the parents. Steering their children through the maze of life and teaching them the skills they will need in order to survive is an endeavor in itself, which is all the more reason why parents' involvement in the home and in their children's education is of the utmost importance. The responsibilities a couple has in these two areas are varied and for proper parenting to take place, parents must pay special attention to certain tasks. Firstly, being a good parent entails considerable effort at home. Parents who either stay at home during the day or return home after work have an equal responsibility in making sure that they spend as much time as possible with their children. It is true that many parents do not have the energy or time to fend for their offspring after a tiring day's work, but they have to realize that it is their responsibility to show their children that they will go that extra mile for them even though they are exhausted. The result of this can only be a positive one, as children learn the value of family, self-sacrifice and love from a parent who spends quality time with his or her children after a grueling day at the office. A second responsibility a parent has at home is discipline. Most parents today ignore this determining factor in a child's development. Without discipline, children will never be able to brace themselves for the difficult job market ahead or learn to overcome difficulties solely relying on their own abilities. Parents must lay ground rules for every aspect of home life, be it table manners to how children are expected to discuss issues with their parents. Teaching children that rules exist in the microcosm of a house prepares youngsters for the more intricate conventions of social life. Secondly, parents should be very involved in their children's education and their responsibilities lie in two stages. The first of these is during a child's first steps in school. Parents must not only highlight the importance of a good education by encouraging their children and supporting them even when they make mistakes, but also must help teach them proper study habits. Helping their children with their homework gives children confidence and makes them realize that it is important, otherwise so much attention would not be necessary. Eventually, children grow up and it is during this next stage that parents must again step in to do what they are responsible for, and that is undergraduate studies. It may seem base to relegate parenthood to a financial level, but unfortunately where education is concerned, if a child is to have a fighting chance of survival in a cut-throat society, proper credentials are a must. Parents should decide cautiously as to what their child could study and where their talents would best be molded. Choosing a field of studies or university that is far beyond the capabilities of their child would ultimately lead to an early dropout and subsequent unemployment. It is therefore evident that parents have a difficult job of raising their children. The qualities they need to become successful parents require care both at home and in their children's education. Parents who want to see their children grow up to lead satisfying lives should spend time with their children for both work and play, carefully plan out their education and lay down the rules so that children may understand if not appreciate social etiquette and conventions. Only in this way can they become actively involved in society.