What shoul a government do to make a country successful

We live in an age in which governments are the only one source of influence in people's lives. Although media and business have a say in shaping the destiny of millions, governments are becoming increasingly responsible. The primary responsibility of a government is to provide its citizens with the basic amenities of life and security for their physical and cultural well-being. One of the most important tasks of every government to make country successful is to make optimum utilisation of its resources like minerals, forests, rivers and above all, its manpower. As such, people should be well educated. Further a government has to do everything for the security of its citizens. Even before trhe emergence of democracy, There wewre kings and their responsible ministers who had understood this principle. For instance, Kaudilya, a minister of ancient India, had given careful instructions to his subordinates even about the handling of firewood. Another issue of great relevance is that governments must do everything to encourage and develop all the positive qualities of citizens. Nurturing music, dance, architecture and sculpture is, therefore, a government's responsibility. Protection of the weaker sections of society is another important task. Providing people with time-honoured facilities for education and health care is the key to a nation becoming seccessful. To conclude, in spite of private sector playing a big role in the lives of individuals, governmentakl responsibilities are on the increase. A successful government, capabke of coordinating all the activities in a pluralistic society is essential. Citizens enjoy basic freedom.