what problem does this cause? what could be done to encourage people to buy local products

It is true that people intend to buy products which produce by large businesses because of marketing and promotion opportunities. There are problems which can cause by this trend. Also, buyers can be encouraged to buy local products in various ways. In many countries, people choose products of large businesses so, this situation causes some problems. On the one hand, local businesses do not have the same budget for spending on marketing and presentation. Therefore, local businesses may not earn money as many as large companies from selling. Consequently, this can cause to wipe out local businesses. On the other hand, big companies may earn a lot of money owing to the advantages of advertisement and marketing. It might lead to being unrivaled. As a result, big companies may decide to sell products more expensive. In the literature, this is called a monopoly. In my view, there are some solutions to intend people to buy local products. Firstly, local companies should design their websites to present people their products. They can advertise their own products cheap way. Consequently, people can be used to know local items so, they can easily trust these products. Secondly, the municipality can provide some resources to local businesses to spend on advertisement and marketing. Therefore small companies can easily deal with big businesses due to the fact that financial aid. In conclusion, across the world, people tend to buy products from large businesses owing to the fact that these companies spend lots of money on marketing and advertisement.