Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing.

Despite the various benefits the major cities can provide, the standards of living suffer under a diverse set of environmental and socio-economic issues. In this essay, I examine the reasons for this issue and I will try to suggest some practical solutions to enhance the level of life. First of all, it is significant to realise the root of this urbanisation problem. I assume, there are three reasons for this. One of the critical causes of the issue is overpopulation, which leads to complications in moving around in the city. A second reason is an environmental pollution. The smog in the World capitals and other high-density urban areas has become unbearable for their inhabitants and requires the undertaking of hampering measures. The last reason is the high probability of terrorist attacks or crime events. Obviously, people living in such places are worried about themselves and their relatives. There is almost certainly no one solution to this problem given the complexity of its causes. However, several options have to be to suit people's lives. First, I suggest actively introduce cleaner energy transport systems. Many so-called 'green cities' like Copenhagen are leading the way in the development of higher quality public transports and prioritising light vehicle traffic. Dealing with crimes is far more complicated. I guess that the implementation of the high-security system of the major cities is necessary to restrict the ability to visit them. In conclusion, I would like to point out that while a complete solution may not be possible, any positive community action will help improve the quality of life.