advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year before starting university

Many people argue that the majority of students take a gap year after they finished high school to travel or gain work experience. There are perhaps many reasons for this, but I also believe that taking a gap year can provide many benefits for students if it is well planned. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of taking a gap year. First of all, students can earn money by working as a part-timer, reducing the burden on their families. Consequently, they will be able to make new friends and get work experience which will develop their personal skills and impress their employers if they apply for a job. Secondly, they will get a chance to pursue other interest that are neglected during their secondary school. For examples, learning musicals or doing some sports that can at least develop their skills. Finally, if they are not sure about their interest on a major, they can explore it by taking a gap year. By turning to the other side of argument, they can be a year behind their friends who are already well settled into university life. It can be a great disadvantage if they don’t plan and use a year well. Moreover, their momentum for studying will be reduced when they go back to university after taking a long break. For examples, they continuously want to relax doing the hobbies and watching on Netflix which can lead to wasting a lot of valuable time. Taking everything into consideration, taking a gap year is a good idea if they spend that time cleverly and wisely.