What more do you think could be done to promote healthy living

The World Health Organisation recently released a report that 1 in 3 11-year-olds is overweight or obese. One of the solutions to stop the growth in overweight people in society is to introduce healthy lifestyle habits from as early as possible. A balanced diet is the key to a healthy weight. Make sure that you eat a variety of foods. It is vital to eat from all five food groups. Try to buy fresh ingredients and free-range meats. Processed food often contains a lot of additives that are not as nutritious as fresh food. Make sure you include plenty of fruit and vegetables in your diet. Modern dietitians strongly advise to eat 5 servings of fruit and vegetables every day. Try to avoid fattening food and cut down on the amount of salt and sugar you eat. Eat moderate portions and don’t be tempted to order a larger meal when eating out. Restaurants often serve portions that are enough for two or three people. Children should be getting smaller portions than adults. Make sure you eat regularly and don’t skip meals, this can help you to moderate snacking and control your appetite. If you have a food allergy, you don’t need to completely eliminate your favourite foods. Do check the food labels properly and avoid any of the ingredients that can make your condition worse. Regular physical activity is also a crucial part of a healthy life. Exercise keeps you feeling good and helps you maintain a healthy weight. To summarise, following a healthy eating plan can help you prevent overweight and obesity, it is therefore vitally important to include the right types of food in your everyday diet and to exercise daily. *