What measures do you think could be taken to encourage people not to travel such long distances into work?

There has been an increase of commuters escaping the city center to live in the surrounding areas and travel to and from work each day. As a result of this the traffic jams in the city have risen as well as the pollution, damaging the natural habitat. There are some ways to deal with this issue, such as building new ride paths in the city and promoting the use of public transport. One of the main problems in the cities is the huge number of vehicles on the road during peak hours as many commuters use their private car to travel to and from work. This situation not only is affecting the quality of the air, but also damaging the ozone layer by emitting excessive CO2. Although, there is a solution that can reduce this gas emissions by encouraging the human society to use public transport more often. One of the strategies that can be put in place is to give the commuter a concession card for public transport during rush hour. By doing that, fewer automobiles will be on the roads and less CO2 will be emitted. Another concern about the increase of the pollution is the damage that the environment is experiencing. However, there are some methods to apply in order to reduce the pollution in the cities. Councils could build more infrastructures as in ride paths next to the main roads of the city to encourage individuals to use the bicycle much more than they do now. Furthermore, adding a new bicycle system in the city with bike sites around the most concurrent spots where not only commuters, but also tourists can rent a bike for an hour or for the day. If these measures are implemented the quality of the air in the city will improve and in consequence the natural habitat will be more preserved. Even though some people may be against the presence of bike riders in the city as it can end up with more accidents and more fatalities it will definitely help to protect the fauna and flora of our cities. In conclusion, it is clear that many more people are travelling to and from work, who are contributing in contaminating the cities much more than ever before. In contrast, there are some possible solutions to help alleviate it. The council could implement some strategies like facilitating the use of the bicycle as one the main means of transport and make more accessible for everyone the public transport system.