What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

By no means cars revolutionized our lives, giving us freedom and making the world smaller. But this revolution has a dark side which is excessive traffic congestion, among others, in cities. It’s fair to say that the average speed on the streets of London nowadays is comparable to the one in the 1920’s. Definitely roads of our cities became nothing more than one bit traffic jam. In this essay I would like to analyse how governments can tackle this problem, what means can be used to unclog our towns and how to discourage citizens from using their vehicles. Just for the sake of honesty, I believe that the majority of local authorities are aware of such a problem and already started implementing reasonable solutions. One of the main incentives of using motor vehicles in cities is that these are faster, more comfortable and allow the public to reach their travel destinations quicker. If someone can cut half an hour from his daily commute he would definitely choose faster means of transport. If we want to encourage drivers to switch to public transportation we need to ensure that this one will provide shorter travel times, become more comfortable and more reliable. This can be done by a myriad of ways. Some of them require large investments - like building new entire rapid transit systems, other ones are way cheaper - establishing bus lanes on the most congested roads, or even such simple as introducing wireless internet and power sockets in commuter trains, so that office workers can productively use the time spent in the journey. Addressing problem from the other side, side local governments can try to discourage motorists from using cars. One may come with many ideas how this can be exercised. I would just like to mention introducing charges for driving into city centres, increasing parking charges or maybe even making them more dynamic, dependent on current traffic in the city. One idea that could be taken into account is to transform municipal infrastructure so that it forces the traffic to be limited. It might be slightly counterintuitive that, for example, making roads narrower would reduce the traffic. But this is what recent research suggests. Changes making it more difficult to use the car should, however, be done considerably. There are many people whose trade makes it necessary to use care in everyday work. This includes builders, decorators, delivery drivers and more. We need to make sure that new regulations won’t make them worse off. To summarise, we definitely see that increasing motor traffic affects our everyday life and congestion caused by cars cannot be solved by simply building more roads. Governments, however, have plenty of ways to resolve this issue, and some already started.