High school athletes should not fall under the spell of harmful stereotypes. what is your opinion?

The fact that athletes at high school level are stereotyped based on a plethora of factors is almost a given these days. Most often, these tend to have negative effects on them and cause serious consequences. In my opinion, high school athletes should not fall prey to these negative beliefs, and should try to hold a positive outlook to hold themselves together. There are certain adverse effects stereotyping can have on individuals. Exposure to too much of these ideas can lead to a stereotypical threat. Furthermore, all the aspirations and goals which an athlete holds will be shattered, which has drastic after-effects on the overall mental health of the student. For example, there is a belief that African Americans are good at athletics. This may cause anxiety for others to try and prove it wrong, which adds to the pressure on them. It is really easy to spiral down to a slump with even a single negative thought. For these reasons, it is very important for them to keep their cool, try to brush the stereotypes off and believe in their own abilities. There are certain reasons why i think tackling this with a positive attitude helps. Firstly, keeping a positive mindset and believing in their abilities helps athletes boost their self confidence. This will motivate them to perform better when the time comes. Secondly, it also provides them with the strength needed to face the threats and not give in to what they are being subjected to. In conclusion, i think it is very easy for high school athletes to fall into the trap of stereotypes, and they must try hard not to let these beliefs get the better of them. Holding a positive outlook overall and trying to be strong while not giving into the pressure are the key factors to battling stereotypes.