what less leisure time means for health of individuals

In our current world people are getting more interested in earning more money and this means punishing themselves a lot of work. Many people are working for long hours which leads to either little time or no time for leisure activities. This will surely be disastrous for that individual and it has more disadvantages than advantages. A person who is working for long durations is mainly doing it for the sake of money. Many firms offers overtime benefits for employees who are willing to work for longer time than the stipulated eight-ten hours. Employees who are in dire need of money often chooses this option. For example, in a number of IT firms, overtime benefits are much better than the normal work pay. Another reason for longer work durations is to achieve faster career growth when compared to their peers. Unfortunately individuals who complete their work within their time and are able to do additional work are more in favour for a swift growth within the company ranks. For example, in many banking firms promotions are handed over to those particular workers who have punched in more office time and are able to complete the work in that time. When it comes to disadvantages, the first one would be how this behaviour will eventually affect our health. More working times means lesser physical exercise which is really bad for our health. Employees are reluctant to get out of their chairs, which will in time affect their normal functioning. For example, a study conducted by an multi national company showed that their employees who regularly opted for overtime are more prone to heart diseases. Another disadvantage is the way how longer work hours will affect their mental health. Longer work hours will lead to more work pressure and it will affect the mental equilibrium of a person. Many of them are frequently affected by depression which may last for longer durations. For example, in Japan there has been several instances of employees committing suicide because of their mental exhaustion. The major disadvantage is such workers will find themselves with little or no time to interact or hang out with their loved ones. This will result in many problems such as marital issues, having no friends and personal life. For example, a study conducted by an independent organization in U. S revealed that divorces are quite common amongst married couples where one partner usually favours overtime working. The above passages has revealed that working for long hours for the sake of money or career will surely prove to be disadvantageous. It cost your mental and physical health and the most importantly will take away his loved ones from him. So we can conclude thatlonger work hours with no leisure time is disadvantageous