What is your short-term career goal and why?

Following the completion of an MBA, I intend to minimize carbon emissions across a wide range of companies to move toward a net-zero carbon emission future. To accomplish this, I hope to serve as a management consultant in ESG planning and investing, identifying opportunities for improved operations within client’s existing systems. I have found great satisfaction working as a natural gas pipeline engineer and reducing carbon emissions through my daily work. The aging and leaking gas pipelines that I calculate risk and design replacement projects for would otherwise emit fugitive methane emissions to the atmosphere indefinitely. My daily work provides real and immediate impacts for carbon emissions reductions. I want to continue identifying areas where operations can be adjusted to reduce waste and eliminate carbon emissions; however, I intend to expand the scope of my impact. Working as a consultant in ESG planning and investing, I would have the opportunity to drive these changes across companies and industries. I aim to provide solutions for a net-zero future by bettering current practices to curb existing carbon emissions. My past experience has prepared me to take on these projects and would support me in my short-term goal of becoming an environmental consultant.