plastic bags and packaging damages and solution

Plastic industries have flourished to tremendous levels in recent years. However, this comes with a paramount side effect which deeply harm the environment. In this essay, both damages along with solutions will be further demonstrated before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, the extensive use of plastic products as can be seen in bottled water for example as well as in most shopping bags has led to accumulate huge waste which consequently got disposed in seas and oceans. This common act has detrimental effects to the marine life. To illustrate, a plethora of oceans’ creatures cannot actually distinguish between plastic bags and jellyfish which represent their main food. According to a recent study published in a scientific journal, plastic waste has resulted in the reduction of some coral reefs due to the prohibition of sunlight reaching them as a result of the accumulation of the waste which requires millions of years in order to dissolve and decompose. Although the malignant effects of plastic, we still have the chance to alleviate it. Governments ought to enforce laws that prohibit the manufacturing and growth of plastic industries that are not recyclable. Additionally, fines should be imposed to industrial plants as well as people who throw plastic bags and bottles into oceans and other locations that are not designated as landfills. Another important role that can be exercised by both government and NGOs is the reward system that can be designed to encourage individuals along with organizations if they will recycle their plastic waste or replace it all over with a more sustainable products that can dissolve easily without harming the environment. In conclusion, after this essay has shown both of the above points, what can be suggested is that to reduce the damage of plastic products and preserve the environment, it is pivotal that all people and authorities to work together towards an alternative way of using more environmentally friendly products that will not negatively impact our ecosystem and planet.