What is the importance of music today? Is traditional music more important than international music?

Music, as we know it today, is not the same as what we listened to in our childhoods. Although our childhoods saw an instrumental evolution in the Music industry, it was nothing like today's style of singing or the instruments that are used today. With all the new Genres and the inclusion of Computers in Music industry, it is altogether different now. I remember in my early age, My father would comment on the songs that I was listening to as the tones were alien to him. The generation X saw the coming of a new era in singing, but they did not see it through. It was more of a Classical version of Music, very soft in pitch, Jazz and early stages of Pop. These days you have over a hundred kinds of genres ranging from Classical/Folk and Pop/Rap to Trance/R&B and Hard Rock. Even with all these categories and so much evolutionary changes, Music is still one of the most famous kind of entertainment of our times. It still is not bound to a particular age group or an ethnicity. Music is loved by every race and gender. It is said, "Music is food to the soul". Our Travelling, Liesure/Pleasure activities, fitness routines or simply staying at home is not without the presence of music. Many studies revealed the importance of Music, how it soothes our nerves and how it helps fight depression. It is a known fact that in today's world, depression and anxiety are common problems. Music helps mediating. Music calms down our mental pressures. The types of Music change with the demography. Every country has its' own type of singing. For example, in Pakistan Traditional folk music, Sufi genre, Qawali Music, Ghazals, and even pop music in Urdu language has deep roots. Every country's local music is usually in their native language. Music is a very cultural thing. Music plays a major role in shaping a culture. Music is vital in segregating or rather indicating cultural aspects of a society. Majority of the population in a non-English speaking country listen to their local music and a small amount of population prefers international music. This statistic depicts that Local music is considered more important, being a cultural base. International music has a wide acceptability in a sense, as English is the soft-spoken language around the globe, that it is considered hip and in-fashion. All the concerts of the international singers are a complete sold-out. All these singers go around on world tours and they are quite successful. In a nutshell, Traditional Music keeps you intact more with your culture whereas international music is socially acceptable.