What is the attitude of British people towards politics in the UK? How has it changed through time? What are the reasons for the changes?

People in the United Kingdom are frequently apathetic and uninterested in politics. However, that mindset is increasingly shifting in the right direction. When you call someone who is not a professional politician “a politician”, you are criticizing him or her and implying a lack of credibility. Politicians are viewed with skepticism by the British public. Although politicians are not expected to be corrupt or to exploit their positions to acquire personal riches in the United Kingdom, everyone believes they are frequently dishonest. Because, politics is usually viewed as a filthy enterprise, a necessary evil. the public's lack of enthusiasm for politics may be seen in the fact that surveys have shown a general ignorance of who they are. More than half of British people do not know the name of their local Member of Parliament, even though each region has just one, and a sizable number do not even know the names of significant government ministries or major political party leaders. But, the British were not always unenthusiastic. In centuries past, gentlemen's clubs used to have a rule that no one should bring up politics or religion in polite discourse. If anybody did, there was a risk that the debate would grow too hot, and individuals would become irritable and maybe violent. However, for over two centuries, there has been no genuine chance of a revolution or even a significant shift in the manner of administration. This level of stability is now widely assumed. Most individuals see no need to grow enthusiastic about politics, and no one considers it a “hazardous” topic of discussion. They are more inclined to dismiss it as a “boring topic of conversation”. Recently, this attitude has progressively improved when three-quarters of the adult population are sufficiently interested in politics to vote at national elections, even if voting is not obligatory. There is a general feeling of confidence in the stability and workability of the system. The main reason for this change in attitude is probably the political media. Today, British public opinion is seen to reach the public world through specific routes, e. g. through protest acts such as strikes, public meetings, and demonstrations, via voting boxes, the media, newspaper letter columns, and through opinion surveys. Through these avenues, people could voice their views on political affairs on reasonably steady lines. Public political attitude expression is transforming. It is no longer confined to certain events such as elections, nor does it necessarily require the co-presence of others. A large-scale number of repertoires and media channels and new technologies allow people to voice their views on political topics. As the number of topics that are attracted to the public has risen, the manifestation of attitudes is increasingly restricted to national and conventional issues. Furthermore, there are members of the public in a political environment in which they are continually encouraged by different organizational stakeholders to vocalize their views, whether it is opposition to the government or transnational corporate activity, supporting mental regulations in the environment, or complaints about a company or local authority services. This expansion of the opportunity for verbal speech through the media and nonverbal forms of symbolic action implies that public views are now as saturated as never before in the public domain.