What is more important job satisfsction or job security.

A person’s vocation is an integral part of his/her life as on many occasions, an individual’s identity is defined by the kind of work he/she performs daily. There is an ongoing debate as to which, amongst the following two points that is the personal job satisfaction or job security should be given higher priority while deciding upon choosing one’s career path. Through the medium of this essay, I will discuss both the points and provide my personal opinion in the end. The first viewpoint talks about job satisfaction, which also means getting an immense sense of personal satisfaction and pleasure from the work assigned. For example primary school teachers get an amazing amount of personal satisfaction and a sense of true purpose in their respective lives due practicing the noble profession of teaching even though teaching as a profession does not attract higher salary packages. On the other hand, the proponents of the notion of job security claim that the primary purpose of any livelihood is to generate and sustain financial security over the lifetime of a person. They are willing to do a particular task assigned to them even if it is mundane, boring or one of the most disliked activities to be done by anybody. For example, there are numerous government employees who do not like the work which they are doing at the office, but they choose to do it everyday as there is an aspect of job security involved. In my personal opinion, Job satisfaction is more important than job security as, If a person is getting job satisfaction out of any particular job which he/she is doing, then that particular person will be more motivated to do the work assigned to him and be more productive at work and happy in his personal life as compared to a person who is only chasing stability without actually committing for (to) the job.