As almost people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to a job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

These days, the majority of our daily routine is strictly represented by the time we spend working. This widespread trend is deeply due to a huge increase in employments also for women that in the past were just allowed to take care of their sons. Some people claim that the personal wellbeing is, nowadays, all dependent on our job satisfaction, since many factors could promote it and, in this way, we can justify the higher amount of time we spend working, instead of running after our leisures. In this essay, I will examine some of the factors what could weight in this common belief and offer some food for thought. One of the main factor is, of course, the need to give an explanation to our efforts. As our routine is totally adsorbed by our work, we try to look at jobs in a positive way, in order to get rid of the pressure that it could cause. This means that we need to rationalize our 'waste' of time behind jobs and therefore there is a trend in trying to excel and to be satisfied by what we daily do. Another reason can be that we are often challenged by what jobs required from us and when we are responsible of, for example, the group success the reward gained is really able to rocket up our pride and satisfaction on the job done. In other words, if we are tightly involved in our duties and activities, can be quite natural to do our best and to success for the overall well-being. On the other hand, since we are different human beings, satisfaction could also be poured in something else, maybe outside the job. This is because many people are not so much embroiled in their job and can be totally detached from it. To sum up, the wellbeing due to the job satisfaction cannot be seen as a universal need. Surely, the most competitive workers would gain rewards by their job affairs, but many others are just satisfied by something else. In my view, it is just a matter of equilibrium between all the aspects considered and if we love our job, of course, it will please us. Meanwhile, we should not forget that there is something else, apart from work and that can be satisfying too.