What is important to you? And why?

I believe that the essence of beauty lies in the strength of variety. While exploring the wonders of other cultures excites me, holding on to my own is also something that I deeply value. I've grown up in a family that wholeheartedly celebrates all Indian traditions, and over time they have become a part of my identity. And thus not only do I want to expose myself to and learn about the customs of various known and unknown traditions, but also make the knowledge of the rich Indian heritage available to more people like me. I also find it important to be a valuable member of my community. During a conversation with my grandmother, I realized how demotivated she felt about life altogether amidst this pandemic. She had nothing to look forward to being confined to the four walls of her home, causing her to be lonely and unhappy. Having realized how all the elderly members of our community went through the same feeling, two of my best friends and I planned and organized online meetups for the elderly every week, where we played dramas, games and had a fun chat. An hour of enjoyment and laughter made me realize and acknowledge the value of connectedness in a community. However, what I regard with the greatest importance are the little things in life - moments of joy with family and friends, lending a hand of help in times of need and the everyday learnings that shape my identity.