Water contamination is one of the most serious environmental issues. This article will first propose that the most serious problem is caused by oil leaks and spills, and then propose that the most visible remedy is leaked oil absorption.

Water contamination is one of the most serious environmental issues. This article will first propose that the most serious problem is caused by oil leaks and spills, and then propose that the most visible remedy is leaked oil absorption. Water and oil, as the adage goes, do not mix, and oil is insoluble in water. Large oil spills and leaks are a major source of water contamination, despite the fact that they are generally unintentional. The oil that remains on the surface of the water prevents oxygen and light from entering the water of the seas and oceans, and as a result, the life of plants and aquatic animals is endangered. Oil drilling activities in the water or ships transporting oil, for example, are frequently the source of oil leaks and accidents. One of the best ways to get rid of water pollution, especially oil, is to absorb it physically, which is very convenient and cheap. The adsorbent floating on the water changes the phase of the oil from liquid to semi-solid. For example, a synthetic sponge that combines polyurethane foam with molecules that can absorb oil, such as Oleo sponge. Leaks of oil and oily products on the surface of the water as the biggest cause of water pollution lead to endangering the lives of many organisms, and as a solution to reduce its harm can be mentioned adsorbents. The use of synthetic foam sorbents is recommended to reduce water pollution.