what is good about doing homework?

Introduction The purpose of this report is to analyze what students say about homework by the ages between 16 and 18 at our school. The information included was obtained from personal interviews with fifty students. What do students think? Nine of the students said homework taught them a range of positive skills that they would carry with them throughout their academic and working lives, while six students said homework improved their achievement in terms of improved grades, test results, and the likelihood to attend college. These students felt that homework was beneficial to them. However, nineteen students complained when the workload was too large and tasks became increasingly difficult, homework caused them to feel anxious, stressed, and unmotivated and led them to sleep deprivation, behavioral changes, headaches, exhaustion, weight loss, and stomach problems. Finally, sixteen students complained that they had to spend too much time on homework so they weren’t meeting their developmental needs or cultivating other critical life skills. Conclusions On the whole, I believe that most students at our school think that too much homework makes them feel stressed and burn out. However, it’s important to remember that homework isn’t all bad. It can be very valuable – it teaches students good study habits and time management.