What is an American? It is a simple question but not all of us have an answer. In my eyes to be an American means to have the concept of patriotism, being free, and lastly, identity diversity.

What is an American? It is a simple question, but not all of us have an answer. In my eyes to be an American means to have the concept of patriotism, being free, and lastly, identity diversity. Patriotism means supporting our country in good times or bad and never lose faith in our country. In "Veterans Day: Never Forget Their Duty" by John McCain, he defines Mike's act as patriotism. Mike, who was deprived of freedom and captivity in Hanoi, sewed the American flag on the inside of his shirt to showed the devotion of the mother country. This action is not for accomplished for a note or get the award, this shows respect and loyalty to the country. Mike's love brings people together to have a common goal that overcomes the difficult times and to do what is best for the nation. Those who are patriotic will do what is right for our nation in the way of supporting efforts to make the country stronger and come together as a combined group with a common goal. That goal is to do what we can to keep the nation united and show solidarity for the good of the United States. Patriotism includes remembering freedom fighters' sacrifices and bravery for the country. For example, our freedom fighters like George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King do not hesitate to sacrifice their lives to get free the country. All they did are make up the country we live in today. When people think of what it means to be an American, the word “freedom” comes to mind. All the things that the United States has to offer, freedom is always at the top. Willie Nelson said, "America, to me, is freedom", America is " Free" but it does not mean an American has free food, a free car, or a free house. Instead, it means a person living in America is free to make their own decisions, such as choosing what job they will do, where they want to live, who will run the country, etc. According to the Bill of Rights, the people have freedom of speech, religion, the right to vote, the right to keep and bear arms, and the ability to travel where and when they want. Here in this country, we can decide how to live our lives, without the government telling us what to do. We can speak our minds about a certain injustice or write about controversial things that many people deem unconstitutional or politically incorrect. Lastly, America is not make-up by one piece, it makes from different rainbow pieces. In "What is an American? ", de Crevecoeur states "What then is the American, this new man? He is either a European or the descendant of a European, hence that strange mixture of blood, which you will find in no other country. I could point out to you a family whose grandfather was an Englishman, whose wife was Dutch, whose son married a French woman, and whose present four sons have now four wives of different nations. He is an American". This explains that not all Americans are supposed to be native to the United States of America in order to be considered an American. And that those who are not native make great sacrifices to complete their trip to America. A true American is anyone that does not really have to be native to America but has the right reasons to live in the United States, wants to reach their own American Dream, has sacrificed a lot to become a true American, and has a deep desire to achieve the title "American. " Millions of people migrate into the United States of American and leave their old homes to start a new one in the "New World" for their own reasons, mostly for a greater and better life. For example, de Crevecoeur says that a man's "country is now that which gives him land, bread, protection, and consequence. This shows that the citizens should not be the ones protecting the country at all times but the country should be protecting and providing for the citizens at all times. Home is a place that protects and feeds a citizen, not a place where the citizen is obligated to protect his country.