What, in your opinion, is the reason for this? How can this be balanced?

It is undoubtedly that learning a foreign language is essential for children. However, educational institutions should not force the student to learn it. I share a similar point of view with this statement with the reasons stated below. To begin with, pushing the youngster to learn a foreign language in school is not an ideal method to improve their communication skills due to the fact there is a shortage number of a competent teacher to deliver this knowledge. In Indonesia, for instance, just a small number of English language subject in school is taught by a subject specialist teacher. This affects the teaching method and material used in the classroom and the tutor is unable to stimulate language-learning activities resulting in the youngster becoming passive participants. Consequently, this process is waste time without beneficial effect for the student. Furthermore, the school curriculum consists of many fundamental subjects in which it is mandatory for the student. The curriculum grade 6 of the elementary school in Indonesia, for example, has at least 6 or 7 compulsory subjects and minimum 3 additional subjects. This is a heavy burden for the student and by obligating them to study the second language may cause overpressure. This leads to a decrease in their academic performance and for the long run, makes them lose their motivation to acquire new knowledge. To sum up, although, it is admittedly that foreign language is beneficial for children in many ways, I disagree that the school have to force the student to learn second because there is a limited number of competent human resources to transfer this knowledge and heavy curriculum in the school.